Green Dragons earn all-district honors

An Enterprise Staff Report

December 13, 2013

Several Harlan football standouts recently earned Class A All-District 6 honors.

Green Dragon quarterback Tanner Morris was named the district’s best quarterback. Senior Cory Chorak made the all-district team at running back. Senior Andrew Brock was named to the first team offense at tight end. Freshman Thomas Morgan joined him as a first team offensive lineman.

Harlan senior Travis Laws was named to the first-team defensive line. Fellow senior Drew Middleton joined him on the defense at linebacker.

Hazard junior running back Brandon Jones was named the district’s top player, while Bulldog coach Mark Dixon was selected as the top coach.

Harlan’s Tye Patrick, Will Slusher, Dakota Torstrick and Colby Wilson were named to the district’s honorable mention team.

The complete all-district teams include:

Award Winners

Best Quarterback — Tanner Morris (Harlan); Best Runningback — Kody Arnett (Hazard); Best Receiver — Chris Hudson (Hazard); Best Offensive Lineman — Matt Hubbard (Pineville); Best Special Teams Player — Josh Puckett (Jenkins); Best Defensive Lineman — Jacob Roll (Hazard); Best Linebacker — Josh Meehan (Hazard) and Best Defensive Back — Conner Ford (Pineville).

First Team Offense

Quarterback — Tucker Woolum (Pineville); Runningbacks — Cory Chorak (Harlan); Ryan Turner (Jenkins); Brad Fuson (Pineville); Tight End — Andrew Brock (Harlan); Offensive Linemen — Ryan Miller (Pineville); John Robbins (Pineville); Thomas Morgan (Harlan); Tyler Logan (Hazard); Tom Pittard (Hazard) and Ray Dixon (Hazard).

First Team Defense

Defensive Linemen — Travis Laws (Harlan); Kaleb Huber (Hazard); Houston Smith (Hazard); Tyler Evans (Pineville); Jessie Patterson (Pineville); Linebackers — Audie Fields (Jenkins); Drew Middleton (Harlan); Dalton Ledbetter (Pineville); Tyler Holbrook (Jenkins); Defensive Backs — Alex Francis (Hazard); Kevin Eversole (Hazard) and Cole Brown (Jenkins).

Honorable Mention

Will Adams (Pineville); Jalen Byrd (Pineville); Scotty Church (Jenkins); T.J. Clemons (Hazard); Austin Fields (Jenkins); Cade Fletcher (Hazard); Bill Holbrook (Jenkins); John Holyfield (Jenkins); Caleb McCorkle (Pineville); Robbie Miller (Pineville); Tanner Morgan (Hazard); Tye Patrick (Harlan); Cole Ratliff (Hazard); Jacob Shackleford (Pineville); Will Slusher (Harlan); Dakota Torstrick (Harlan) and Colby Wilson (Harlan).