Intense competition

February 24, 2014

Teams from Wallins Elementary School, shown at left, and Cumberland Elementary School, shown at right, met in the championship round of the Harlan County School District’s Elementary Academic League quick recall competition on Thursday. Hosted at Evarts Elementary School for all eight elementary schools in the district, Wallins won first place and Cumberland finished second. Wallins team members are from left, Riley Murphy, Cody Clayborn, Edmund Dye and Tony Reynolds. Competing for Wallins but not shown here was Ciara Gibson. All of the schools will field teams in the upcoming district Kentucky Governor’s Cup elementary division on March 1, to be hosted by Evarts Elementary and Harlan Independent Schools.