Last updated: August 13. 2014 5:26PM - 820 Views
By - nsizemore@civitasmedia.com

Debbie Caldwell | Daily EnterpriseHarlan County Clerk Donna Hoskins looks at candidate filing records on Wednesday.
Debbie Caldwell | Daily EnterpriseHarlan County Clerk Donna Hoskins looks at candidate filing records on Wednesday.
Story Tools:

Font Size:

Social Media:

The filing deadline for non-partisan candidates seeking the offices of mayor, city council and school board members for the general election on Nov. 4 has ended.

Candidates seeking the office of mayor for the city of Harlan are Daniel Howard and Eric Perry. Those seeking a spot on the Harlan City Council are Mastin G. Smith, Bennie Patton Jr. and Anne Hensley.

Seeking the office of Cumberland mayor are Charles Raleigh and Carolyn Elliott. Hoping to secure a seat on the Cumberland City Council are David Dixon, Benard Graham Jr., Joanne Gilliam, Teresa Raleigh, Ronald Jarvis, Randall Tackett and Leslie Bush.

The only candidate filing for the office of Evarts mayor was incumbent Eddie Manning. Seeking a position on the Evarts City Council for the upcoming year are Jacqueline Renfro, Clark Cusick Sr., Larry Caudill, V.M.Shelly Shackleford, Charlee Couch and Kevin Couch.

Incumbent Clarence Longworth was the solo candidate filing for the office of Loyall mayor. Seeking for a position on the Loyall City Council were Elvin Smith, William Clark Bailey, James Hagy, Dewayne Williams, Charles Lovely and Trenna Cornett.

The city of Lynch will have one candidate for mayor, incumbent John Adams. Filing for a seat on the Lynch City Council were Linda Adams, Winston H. Yeary, Carl D. Collins, Betty Hudack and Mark Huddack.

Benham mayor Wanda Humphrey is once again seeking to fill that office. Filing for a seat on the Benham City Council are Cynthia Humphrey, George Massey Sr., Howard White and David Kidwell.

With two positions to fill on the Harlan County Board of Education, Wallace Napier was the single candidate who filed to fill the position in District 4 (Evarts area). Filing for the other position in District 5 (Cumberland area) were Pamela S. Sheffield and Jeff Wilder.

Candidates Will Miller, Cynthia Allison, Terry Delaney and Kat Stacy filed to fill three positions available on the Harlan Independent Board of Education.

“The last date to file a declaration of intent as a write-in candidate is Oct. 24 at 4 p.m. for any county office on the ballot for the Nov. 4 general election,” said Harlan County Clerk Donna Hoskins. “Anyone wanting to register to vote in the Nov. 4 general election must do so at my office by Oct. 6 at 4 p.m. You may also change your address and your party before that date.”

Nola Sizemore may be reached at 606-573-4510 or on Twitter @Nola_hde

All user comments are subject to our Terms of Service. Users may flag inappropriate comments.
comments powered by Disqus

Featured Businesses


Info Minute

Gas Prices

Harlan Gas Prices provided by GasBuddy.com