Last updated: December 30. 2013 12:41AM - 670 Views
Joe P. Asher Staff Writer

Story Tools:

Font Size:

Social Media:

Voters wishing to change their party affiliation in order to vote in the primary elections in May are running out of time.

The deadline to change affiliations is Monday.

According to Harlan County Clerk Donna Hoskins, you have until 4:30 p.m. on Monday to make the switch if you if you are already registered and wish to vote in the primary.

Hoskins said it only takes three or four minutes to change party affiliation. Qualified voters may register to vote up until 30 days before the election, which would put that deadline in early April.

Those seeking office must have their party affiliations set by Monday.

“To be able to vote or run for office in any party, the change must occur on or before Dec. 30,” said Hoskins.

Hoskins said county-wide elections will be May 20.

“City races and school board races will not be (held) until the November election,” said Hoskins.

Hoskins mentioned there will be some precinct location changes, based on the 2010 census population results.

“We have eliminated three precincts by combining them with others,” said Hoskins. “There will be some different locations for the voting locations themselves, and I will start running ads as soon as LRC approves that.”

Hoskins said if anybody has intentions of filing to run for an office, they need to check with her office to make sure they live in the correct district before filing.

“That would include constables and magistrates,” said Hoskins.

Hoskins mentioned the deadline to file to run for an office is Jan. 28.

The races for judge-executive, sheriff and jailer have already received attention by candidates, with multiple filings for each office.

In order to run for judge-executive, sheriff or jailer, a person must be at least 24 years of age, a citizen of Kentucky, reside in the state for at least two years and reside in the county for one year preceding the election during which they are a candidate.

The following candidates have filed with the Kentucky Registry of Election Finance:

* Judge-executive — Dan Mosley, Ed Harris, Paul Caldwell and William McKinley Lambert III.

* Sheriff — Marvin J. Lipfird, Leslie E. (Smitty) Smith, Mike Lunsford, Clair Stines, Arlis Frank Pennington, Jayson Howard and John Teagle.

* Jailer — B.J. Burkhart, Winston “Wink” Yeary, John Clem Jr., Larry “Bun” Grubbs, Chris Allen, Charles Bailey and Daniel Howard;

* Harlan County Attorney — Fred Busroe;

* Property Valuation Administrator — Felicia M. Wooten;

* Magistrate (District 1) — Clark “Sparky” Middleton, Nobe Baker, Olivia Nicole Middleton, Michael Brock, Croley Forester and Matt Napier;

* Magistrate (District 3) — David Kennedy and Brandon Haynes;

* Magistrate (District 4) — Steven Ray;

* Magistrate (District 5) — Britt Craig, James F. Howard, Delbert Stephens, Richard Torstrick, Otis “Bull Man” Hensley;

* Constable (District 2) — Clyde Payne and Ed King;

* Constable (District 4) — Byron Foley and Shawn Bryant;

* Constable (District 3) — Brandon Haynes;

* 26th Circuit Judge — Henry Johnson and Karen S. Davenport have filed with the Secretary of State to run for 26th District, First Division Circuit Court judgeship;

* Fitz Steele, D-Hazard, has filed paperwork denoting his plans to seek re-election as state representative for the 84th district, Steel currently holds the position for the district which was recently reconfigured.

Reach Joe P. Asher at 606-573-4510, ext. 113, jasher@civitasmedia.com

All user comments are subject to our Terms of Service. Users may flag inappropriate comments.
comments powered by Disqus

Featured Businesses


Info Minute

Gas Prices

Harlan Gas Prices provided by GasBuddy.com